How to fall in love with a bookworm: First Section.

stevenerikson

While digging around on the net, I came across How to fall in love with a reader, an article in which the blogger Amanda L. Webster answers a list of 36 questions intended to make bookworms interested in other bookworms. The Questions are revised from an original article posted on the New York Times. If not fall in love, then at least kick-start a conversation about books. So, I decided to answer them myself and join in the fun.

1. What was your favorite book as a child? 

The only book I remember from my childhood would be The Arabian Nights: Tales from a Thousand and One Nights. Although my memory fails me when it comes to the contents of the book, I remember staying up late at night, secretly, reading it.

2. What’s the last really good book you read?

I read alot of really good books lately, but my two up most favorites would be The Bonehunters (The 6th book in the Malazan Book Of The Fallen Series) and The Colour of Magic (The first book from the Discworld series).

3. Do you prefer fiction or nonfiction? Why?

Fiction, fiction and more fiction. Seriously, reality is everywhere, and it’s less impressive than what people let out.

4. Do you finish every book that you start? If you don’t, how do you decide when to stop reading?

There is no point in finishing a book that bores me to death.

5. List your 10 favorite books in four minutes or less. Write it down because you’ll revisit it at the end.

The 6 first books of the Malazan Book Of The Fallen Series by Steven Erikson, the other four I’m yet to read, The Way Of King by Brandon Sanderson, Legend by David Gemmel, Steelheart yet again by Brandon Sanderson and Chronicles of Solomon Kane Robert E. Howard.

6. Do you reread books? Which ones?

Not really, but there are sometimes exceptions.

7. Do you read poetry? Why or why not?

Not really, rarely. It’s just not my cup of tea.

8. Do you remember the first “grown-up” book you read?

I don’t really remember exactly, I think The Black Company by Glen Cook.

9. Are there any authors whose work you have read completely?

No… Now that I thought about it, I think I should finish reading Steven Erikson’s.

10. How often do you read books that are more than 100 years old?

Not often, but there are some classics here and there that I really enjoyed (Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K.Jerome comes to mind)

11. Is there a type (or types) of book you never read?

Yes, Romance, Biographies…..

12. How do you choose what to read?

Carefully, I read alot of reviews before deciding if I want to read a certain book or not.

And that’s it for this part. I hope you enjoyed reading this and found me to your fancy, and please don’t hesitate to join us by answering these questions on your blog and living a link in the comments section.

The 36 Questions could be found here.

2 comments

  1. […] How to fall in love with a bookworm: First Section. […]

    Like

  2. […] This is the second part of the How to fall in love with a bookworm. To understand more about it, check the intro of the first section, here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

